Go to the alexander-the-great.co.uk homepage
alexander-the-great.co.uk
Talk about the Oliver Stone movie "Alexander"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Greetings
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    alexander-the-great.co.uk Forum Index -> Say Hello
View previous topic :: View next topic  
athenas owl

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Greetings Reply with quote

Have been reading this forum for a few weeks.

Came across it after watching Stone's film, "Alexander". I feel so bad that I heeded the critics when the film was first released. When I finally saw it on HBO, I was gobsmacked.

My degree is in Medieval history, but I have always had a soft spot for Alexander and his era. I had started watching the film expecting to tear it apart for historical inaccuracies and Colin Farrell's bleached hair. Instead I felt transported in time. Rarely does a film leave me longing for a happier ending even though the fin is known. Longing for what might have been, feeling that somehow I should reach myself, even though I too might fall.

Anyway, this is a very good forum. Lots of information and links. Thank you.
apelles

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome Athenas owl.I,m glad you came round to the film,it did get a pretty unfair press.We all love it.I hope you enjoy the discussions. Very Happy
Adriv

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! Welcome

Try to stick around, you will love it.

Cheers! Smile
joanna

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Athenas owl !

What a username ? I like these small birds so much !

Now if we are talking about 'Athene noctua' the goddess Athena's bird,